It has all started back in 1977 when George Lucas created and released the first Star Wars movie – A New Hope. The movie, and actually the whole saga immediately became a global phenomenon.

Since then all the Star Wars movies earned together $8 877 021 000 in the theaters worldwide. And another billion US dollars on various merchandising and rights.

The original trilogy had 3 episodes: A New Hope (1977), The Empire Strikes Back (1980) and the Return of the Jedi (1983).

Star Wars: Episode IX - The Rise Of Skywalker. Everything you need to know about the new Star Wars saga movie. 1

After that, the whole saga took a 16 year-long break as the next movie was released only in 1999.

The prequel trilogy was again created and directed by George Lucas. The movies released were The Phantom Menace (1999), Attack Of The Clones (2002) and The Revenge Of The Sith (2005).

In 2012 George Lucas sold the Lucasfilm (the studio responsible for creating the first 6 Star Wars movies) to Disney for $4 billion dollars.

The Disney studio was not hesitating at all and immediately started the production of the next Star Wars movies.

In 2015 the Disney studio released the first movie from its sequel trilogy called Star Wars: Episode VII – The Force Awakens. The movie was yet again released after 16 years-long breaks and earned a stunning $2,068,223,624 in cinemas worldwide.

Shortly after that, the studio released the first stand-alone Star Wars movie called Rogue One: A Star Wars Story. The movie received very positive reviews from critics and earned a bit more than 1 billion in cinemas.

The next movies Star Wars: Episode VIII – The Last Jedi (2017) and Solo: A Star Wars Story (2018) were slightly disappointing. They both received more negative than positive reviews from critics and fans. In the theaters, they earned together less than The Force Awakens itself.

This December the original storyline will come to its end. The new Star Wars movie is called The Rise Of Skywalker and here is everything you need to know before you go to the theater.

Hopefully, the movie will give the saga a great ending that all the Star Wars fans around the world deserve.

Star Wars: Episode IX – The Rise Of Skywalker.

From the trailers and TV spots, you can already see that the majority of the characters will return. Besides the ones like Rey, Kylo Ren, Chewbacca, Luke, and Princess Leia, there will be another 2 characters having a huge comeback.

The first one is Lando Calrissian who has already appeared in The Empire Strikes Back movie from 1980. Lando was an old-time friend of Han Solo. Who was btw, killed by his own son Kylo Ren in The Force Awakens.

Star Wars: Episode IX - The Rise Of Skywalker. Everything you need to know about the new Star Wars saga movie. 2

The second character coming back from the past is Palpatine. Originally credited as the Emperor of the Galactic Empire and one of the strongest Sith in the whole galaxy. He was also the master of Darth Vader, the father of Luke Skywalker.

How they will be both incorporated into the movie is not know yet.

Also, we do not know exactly is what is the movie about. Which Skywalker will rise? It seems that Luke is dead and Princess Leia will not play a big role because the actress Carrie Fisher passed away in 2016.

To find the full answer to this question we will need to wait until the movie hits the theaters.

What you can expect from The Rise Of Skywalker?

It has been rumored that in this episode the First Order will be finally defeated and some kind of new era of the galaxy will begin.

The movie will take place approximately 1 year after the Last Jedi ended, leaving everything open. What we do know exactly, as seen in trailers is that we will visit the ruins of the Death Star. And I bet that there will be a new super deadly weapon introduced to us.

The storyline will focus mostly on the new characters but it will also give space to nostalgic scenes with the old characters like Leia.

Also, it wouldn’t be a proper Star Wars movie without bringing new characters into the screen. So get ready to see a new droid called D-O, more screen time for Rose (who has been introduced in The Last Jedi) and a completely new character called Jannah.

Star Wars: Episode IX - The Rise Of Skywalker. Everything you need to know about the new Star Wars saga movie.

Who is the director of Episode IX?

At the begging of the production, it was announced that the director will be Collin Trevorrow, the creator of the Jurassic World trilogy. Later on, in 2017it was announced that he is off the project and will be replaced by J.J. Abrams, the director of the rebooted Star Trek and also the director of Episode VII: The Force Awakens.

The movie was meant to have 155 minutes and become the longest episode of the saga. But according to the latest news from the director J.J. Abrams, it will have “only” 144 minutes. Leaving the title of the longest movie to The Last Jedi and its 152 minutes.

The cast of Episode IX.

  • Daisy Ridley as Rey 
  • John Boyega as Finn
  • Adam Driver as Kylo Ren 
  • Oscar Isaac as Poe Dameron
  • Lupita Nyong’o as Maz Kanata
  • Kelly Marie Tran as Rose
  • Domhnall Gleeson as Hux
  • Joonas Suotamo as Chewbacca
  • Anthony Daniels as C-3PO
  • Jimmy Vee as R2-D2
  • Billie Lourd as Kaydel Ko Connix
  • Mark Hamill as Luke Skywalker
  • Carrie Fisher as Leia Organa
  • Billy Dee Williams as Lando Calrissian
  • Ian McDiarmid as Palpatine
  • Naomi Ackie as Jannah
  • Richard E. Grant as Allegiant General Pryde

Official Plot from IMDB: The surviving Resistance faces the First Order once more in the final chapter of the Skywalker saga.

And what else is coming to theaters this month? Here is the list of the best December premieres.

Star Wars: Episode IX - The Rise Of Skywalker. Everything you need to know about the new Star Wars saga movie. 3